Welcome to Uvas Reservoir County Park. This beautiful and scenic 1,017 acre park and reservoir is nestled below the Santa Cruz Mountains, just minutes from Morgan Hill and Gilroy.
The Uvas Reservoir area was frequented by the Mutsun Ohlone Indians for thousands of years before the arrival of the Europeans. Today's reservoir was once part of the 11,093 acre Rancho Las Uvas (meaning "Ranch of the grapes"), granted by Mexican Governor Alvarado to Lorenzo Pineda in 1842. The land later became patented under the American courts to Martin Murphy, an early pioneer of Morgan Hill and Gilroy. The lush valley was used for agriculture including plums. At the turn of the century a woman named Minnie Kell, or "Ma Kell", ran a campground in the Uvas Creek Valley, featuring a swimming hole, baseball diamond and dance floor. The construction of Uvas Dam and Reservoir in 1957 was part of a countywide effort by water officials to ensure adequate water supplies for the valley's growing population. Water from the reservoir is used to recharge supplies in underground aquifers, which will later be pumped from wells for residential, agricultural, and industrial uses. In 1960, the County Parks and Recreation Department began recreational operation of the reservoir.
In compliance with the requirements of Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (‘ADA”), the Santa Clara County Parks and Recreation Department will not discriminate against qualified individuals with disabilities on the basis of disability in its programs, services, or activities. The Department will make reasonable modifications to policies and programs to ensure that people with disability have an equal opportunity to enjoy our programs, services, facilities, and activities. If you need assistance with an ADA request, please contact our ADA Coordinator.
The park is open year-round from 8:00am until sunset.
Activities at the park center around the reservoir. Picnic facilities are limited and are located at the parking area.